Professor John Ormiston


Interventional Cardiologist & Medical Director

Work History

John Ormiston graduated from Otago University Medical School in 1972 with distinction in medicine and surgery, the Boyd Prize in medicine and Stanley Batchelor Memorial prize in surgery.

He trained in cardiology at Wellington and Greenlane Hospitals before taking up a National Heart Foundation Scholarship for further training in Los Angeles.

In 1984, following his senior staff appointment at Greenlane Hospital John played a major role developing the new field of interventional cardiology in New Zealand and the Asia Pacific.

This includes introducing many new techniques and technologies such as the world’s first implantation of a fully bioresorbable drug-eluting stent, the first transcatheter aortic valve implantation in the Asia Pacific region, and the first New Zealand renal denervation for hypertension.

His research has involved clinical studies and received international recognition for his bench testing of cardiological devices. John is widely published with more than 200 scientific papers in peer reviewed journals.

John is a founding member of the Auckland Heart Group, one of New Zealand's leading private cardiology groups.

In 1989 he was instrumental in setting up Auckland’s first private angiography suite (Mercy Angiography). He has been the Medical Director of Intra Ltd (formerly Mercy Angiography) since 1989. 

In 2004 he was appointed Associate Professor at the University of Auckland School of Medicine and Professor in 2013.

In 2008 the Royal College of Physicians, London awarded him with an honorary fellowship.

In 2011 he became an Officer of the New Zealand Order of Merit for services to medicine.

In 2017 Professor Ormiston was awarded the Ethica Award, Europe’s most prestigious award in interventional cardiology. Each year the Ethica Award is bestowed on remarkable individuals who have significantly contributed to the field of cardiovascular intervention as teachers, innovators, scientists, care providers, or pioneers. This was the first time an individual has received this award in the Southern Hemisphere.